Tuesday, September 25, 2012

B is for Blue

Every day during the BLUE Ocean Film Festival, scientist Michelle Johnston will be providing live broadcasts via   OceansLIVE.org.  Sanctuary hosts will be interviewing ocean explorers, film makers, and special guests, such as Prince Albert II of Monaco, to get their views on how to better understand the ocean that surrounds us. Tune in to watch shows on OceansLIVE.org at noon Pacific time each day (2 p.m. Central, 3 p.m. Eastern,  8 p.m. UK time) 

For the full schedule of Oceans Live events during the festival - click here

OceansLIVE! Is a partnership between the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Office of National Marine Sanctuaries, the National Marine Sanctuary Foundation, and the University of Rhode Island’s Inner Space Center.  This program’s mission is to bring the ocean to communities nationwide through a multi-media approach highlighting ocean topics occurring across the globe.  It is a unique opportunity to interact with ocean explorers, scientists and educators while in the field working to better understand the ocean that surrounds us.  From research vessels, to rocky intertidal areas, to undersea habitats, education productions, and even film festivals - this program works to help everyone from California to Iowa, from Michigan to Florida better understand the oceans impact on them and their impact on the ocean.

Web-based technology links people real-time to scientists, educators, and others engaged in active marine research.  OceansLIVE! Uses the internet to allow ordinary people to participate in real science and ocean related policy and entertainment by connecting them LIVE to NOAA and Inner Space Center expeditions and events underway in remote locations around the globe.

Photo courtesy of euthrophication&hypoxia via Flickr (CC BY 2.0)